#Festive500 Day 1

Today I started my first Strava challenge, the festive 500. I wouldn’t have put myself into the category of a “Strava warrior” however this challenge seemed like something fun to do over the christmas period and lets face it, most would rather ride outside than sit on a turbo trainer!

The aim is to do 500 km between Christmas eve and New Years Eve.

image

I set out on my adventure about 9 am with the hope of avoiding the inevitable rain…

image

With a banana and two home made peanut butter oat cakes I set off into the countryside…

Summary;

Hour 1: WIND

Hour 2: RAIN

Hour 3: Cafe. I was very damp and much to the disgust of the waitress I left a big puddle on my seat from all the rain water…

image

Hour 4: Sunshine?! After bumping in to a few cyclists in the cafe (most notably the famous Barnes Family) I joined onto the back of some Rutland Velo riders who coincidently were heading back to where I lived! A miracle!

image

 

image

I stopped the clock at just over 3 hours and 47 miles(ish).

You can see my route here; #Festive500day1

image

75Km down 425km to go…

Follow my #Festive500 Journey on:

Instagram:@ginger_biskwit

Twitter:@ginger_biskwit

Strava:Keira McVitty

Leave a comment